Oslo Garden

A blog about gardening in Oslo, Norway

First visits to the school kitchen garden

4 Comments

It’s still early days at the school garden. I’ve only made three visits so far, not falling into the trap I did last year of being so eager to plant out some vegetables it ended up being too soon and the cold weather took its toll on them.

So far I’ve sown:

April 26

  • four rows of lettuces
  • one row of Calendula flowers in beside the lettuces

May 1

  • two rows of parsnips
  • one row of beetroot

May 8

  • three rows of carrots (three varieties)
  • one row of ornamental carrot
  • One row of radish in between the lettuce

The chives that I overwintered have been transplanted alongside the rows of carrots. These plants are now in their second year, looking nice and healthy so I’m hoping I’ll see some lovely flowers from them this summer.

What I’ve sown/planted and where is according to my school plan but I’m already thinking I might amend it slightly. I may move the lettuces over to the area underneath the Uchiki kuri squash’s climbing frame. I recently saw pictures of this idea and it seemed an effective use of what would otherwise be dead space.

Plus it means that in the space that’s freed up I can grow some more beans and peas and possibly, if there’s room, another summer squash.

By the time of my third visit, the lettuces and calendula were beginning to emerge. Between the visits, the soil temperature in the raised beds had increased from (barely) 5 to 7 to 12 degrees celsius. I’m keeping the remaining beds covered for now and will be back soon to transplant some of the vegetable and flower seedlings currently hardening off at home.

Author: hagenics

Environmentalist and gardener currently living in Oslo, Norway.

4 thoughts on “First visits to the school kitchen garden

  1. Looking good and that’s a really nice mix of produce you’ve designed. You have me thinking about dead space now though.. which of course is an excuse to plant more!! 🙂

  2. Yeah, I also was inspired by the idea of planting lettuce or some other surface growing plant underneath the plants that grow vertically. Good idea!

Leave a Reply

