Oslo Garden

A blog about gardening in Oslo, Norway

The winter coldframe gets a visitor

2 Comments

Temperatures had been hovering under 10 degrees celsius over the past few weeks and I’d managed to harden off the seedlings so that I was able to leave the cold frame open for most of the daytime, closing it with it slightly agar over night. Now the temperatures have cooled right down and daytime temperatures are closer to zero during the daytime and dropping this week to below zero. So I’m leaving the frame slightly open during the day and will close completely or cover it when it drops to its coldest.

Growth so far has been slow but steady.

Rocket salad and Lamb’s lettuce is still small but look healthy. The Red Giant and Cerbiatta are noticeably bigger and are doing by far the best. The Mizuna is struggling and I may replace the weaker plants with some Winter Purslane which is doing really well on my window sill. Some of the Merveille de quatre saisons salad is beginning to develop its distinctive orange tinge on its leaves.

But there’s been a visitor in one of the planters…

20151118_104438I found a glistening trail on the soil and a few leaves with bits chomped out of them (see above)…The unmistakable calling card of a slug.  I checked all the planters and I couldn’t find it lurking anywhere. Luckily there’s no significant damage but I’m thinking of getting some copper tape to put around the rim of the planters or put more sharp gravel around the base. I need to be vigilant; I don’t want the little critters to have a feast before I do!

Author: hagenics

Environmentalist and gardener currently living in Oslo, Norway.

2 thoughts on “The winter coldframe gets a visitor

  1. I know the feeling about slugs, it is so frustrating! I have tried a lot of different ways to keep them away from my gardening frames. One thing you could do is to clean the sides of the frame with soap and water. It seems the slugs follow their own trails when they go back to the “feast”. Also their collegues tend to follow that same trail. So when you wipe the trail away, there is a chance you will have the plants a little longer. I have a lot more tips, if you want to hear, last summer was a time of great experimenting …

    • I’ve not come across that idea before I’ll try it, thank you very much Eva. And you know when you see the damage on your plants you imagine such a big slug and then you find a small one hiding somewhere! It’s incredible how much damage they can wreak! Yes, do please share any other gardening advice you have. You can’t beat personal experience. I’ll always be very grateful for it.

Leave a Reply

